Eulogy to a Cat

I watched you die.
I sat in my car
with heat blasting my feet
as you squirmed in the road. I shifted
my eyes— held back the tears
and waited
for the light
to turn
green.

I wish I was stronger, wish
I had the courage
to brave the cold
and pick your broken form
off the yellow-lined
road. Instead, I hid my face
behind my wheel
and steered my car away.

I pray your death was fast,
or as painless as could be.
I pray that you found mercy
a kind hand to soothe your shake.
I pray you will forgive me.
Believe me when I say
your twitching legs
still haunt me to this day.

Leave a Reply

