To That Friend Who Doesn’t Realize Her Self-Worth

We have been friends for a while now. I have seen you for who you are and not how you see yourself as. I want you to know that no matter what your brain tells you, you are more than the image that you see in the mirror. That isn’t the real you. It is your biased version of you. I have told you before, but I don’t think you’ve really listened. You are a beautiful person inside and out. You’ve pushed yourself through school on very little. You never gave up even when it looked like a storm was coming your way. Life hasn’t handed you the best deck but you you’ve played your cards and kept pushing through. You have the amazing ability to laugh at yourself and at yourself and are great at finding joy in all of the small things.

I wish you could see yourself how I see you. I know that you have all of these insecurities about yourself and are constantly worried about how others perceive you. Ignore those thoughts. Just gather them all up in a giant trash bag and feed them to the wind. They don’t matter anymore; they never did. You are someone worth loving. You have so many amazing qualities; I just wish that you could see them. You are smart, caring (even if you are overly worried about me when I try out one of my dumb plans), and have a knack to find a joke (mostly dirty) in just about anything. You are always worrying about what your friends think of you when you should be focusing on what you think about you. Once you start seeing yourself as the smart and independent woman that you are those other opinions won’t matter anymore. You’ll realize your own worth and I would love to be around to witness the change that makes in your life. I am so grateful for our friendship, I just wish that you could see that amazing person I see every time we are together. It’s time you focused your efforts inwards, but you don’t have to do it alone. I’ll always be here when your mirror shows you all of your insecurities again. I’ll be there to help put all of the pieces back together.

Love,
Your friend

Leave a Reply

