Objectify Me

I see you in your car
as if you own the road.
You roar

at my rust bucket
parked beside you,
prey on me

like a disease.
You eye me
like an unwanted growth

on your arm,
scrutinizing my pudge,
hunting for one more

imperfection on my face.
I hear you hoot at my heart-shaped
rear, slap it

as I walk by. You marinate
your words in pickup
lines, bake your lies

in winks. Your pride
simmers with your arrogance.
I’m pulled

from the line
as if I were a dog.
To you I am,

But just stick around,
take note
of the lioness I can be.

Leave a Reply

