Stuck in the Corner

I was six in this photograph
pouting in my parents’ bedroom.
They’d put me in a corner, but I backed away
       with my nose 
turned up in disgust.  My Winnie the Pooh hat
slants sideways on my head,
hiding curly bangs. My dad sits behind me
snickering at my scowl. My bare toes flex into the carpet,
preparing to dig a hole. The wrinkled jeans
       lump at my feet;
the sweatshirt droops past my fingers.
My fists ball up beneath my sleeves.
My flaming eyes bore into my sister.
       I am a lioness,
ready to pounce on her prey.
Leave a Reply

