Sunken Dreams Ch.3 Pt. 10

Somewhere in the distance an owl was waking, his hoot echoed through the low hanging branches. The garage floodlight kicked on and bathed me in a yellow glow. I settled my palm on my stomach attempting to silence the beast, but once it began its symphony I finally left my perch and headed back to the house. Jared was waiting just inside the entryway in his drill sergeant stance. His normal scowl wasn’t there, but his glassy eyes followed my every step.

“Rose left a plate of food for you in the fridge. Make sure to thank her. I told her not to. You should fend for yourself after the stunt you pulled.”

“Thanks.” I brushed past him, but he latched onto my elbow before I took three steps.

“Just a moment, Jacqueline.”

“Jackie,” I whispered.

He pulled me backward and led me to the couch under the stairs. I stiffened, but sat on the edge of the couch. His graying brown hair was half in his face and not its usual neat self. His collar was flipped up and his glasses were hanging from the front of his shirt. Jared’s fingers were cold on my inner arm, but his eyes were softer than they had ever been with me.

“Jackie, Can you at least explain to me why you ran off like that?”
He released my arm and ran his fingers across his temples mussing up the hair that fell there. I stared at the tiled flooring. My thumb fidgeting with the
seam of my shirt.

“Look at me when I’m talking to you.” He added in a please as if an afterthought.

I met his gaze briefly, but lowered it immediately to his bubble chin.

“I don’t know what your mom allowed you to do, but when you live with me you can’t run off, understand?” Jared leaned forward only inches from touching me. I shifted just out of his reach. “This is New York, not Arizona.” His phone buzzed in his pocket, but he ignored it. “Do you understand me.”
I nodded.

“Go get your food,” he said with a wave of his arm.

I nodded again and scuffled my way to the kitchen.

“And pick up your feet when you walk,” Jared yelled after me.

Leave a comment